"Do what you can, with what you have, where you are." Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919)

Contact Us

Canadian Women in Computing


2009 Canadian ACM-W Ambassador Newsletter

2010 Canadian ACM-W Ambassador Newsletter

Dr. Gavrilova recently became the first women Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal Transactions on Computational Sciences, Springer. A book on Biometrics she co-authored has became a World Scientific International Bestseller of the month for September 2007. An International Workshop on Computational Geometry and Applications Prof. Gavrilova founded in 2001 is an internationally recognized event running for the 8th time this year. In 2006, Dr. Gavrilova served as an Overall Chair of the 3rd International Symposium on Voronoi Diagrams in Banff, Alberta, 2006 and edited IEEE proceedings of this prestigious international event. In 2007, her achievements were honored at the first UofC Gala as a Woman of Wisdom and Resilience from the Faculty of Science. She is presently directing two labs: Biometric Technologies and SPARCS Lab, co-chairing ICCSA conference (since 2003), working on a book on Intelligent Methods in Computational Geometry, and participates in SciberMentor program.

Yiqiao Wang, who is a female grad student of John Mylopoulos' just won a "Distinguished paper" award at the International Conference on Automated Sofware Engineering (ASE'07). Dr. Sheila McIlraith is the 2nd author on the paper. There were 312 submissions to the conference, and 37 papers were accepted (acceptance rate = 12%). out of the 37 accepted papers, three papers won an award.

Faculty member, Toni Pitassi (female) and Sheila McIlraith were both awarded NSERC Discovery Grant Accelarator awards in March of this year.
The following appeared on the University of Toronto Computer Science Web site:
Ravin Balakrishnan, Sheila McIlraith, Toniann Pitassi and Sam Roweis were honoured by NSERC grants created as part of the federal government's new science strategy. The Discovery Accelerator Supplements support faculty who are on the verge of research breakthroughs: Dr. Suzanne Fortier, President of NSERC notes, "These new grants target 50 outstanding researchers. Based on their success and accomplishments so far, we believe they are poised to make real breakthroughs in their fields, and we believe it is critically important to support them financially at this time." DCS faculty winners hold four out of eight awards given to the University of Toronto. Only 50 supplements were awarded nationwide in all scientific and engineering disciplines (from a pool of 3300 Discovery grant applicants). DCS faculty members were recognized for their respective areas of work: Balakrishnan for "increased inputs for computer displays," McIlraith for "customizing computer system components," Pitassi for "solutions to computational complexity" and Roweis for "practical recipes for machine learning." See the Toronto Star article on the Discovery Accelerator awards here. For more information on NSERC Discovery Supplement Grants, see NSERC's website.